Jack Benny

If you haven’t grabbed it yet, the new weekly schedule can be found by clicking to see Full Story & Pictures and then the following link; ShowSchedules

Hey folks, back from the Inaugural Radio Spirits Cruise and rolling into Fourth Of July Week. As I get my “sea legs” back and have some time to go through all the great audio, video and pictures from the event, I will look to share some of it will all of you who were not able to join me. For the folks that did sail with me, thanks again so much for a tremendous time! I never realized so many of you were skilled radio actors and sound effects specialists! Hope to make it an annual event.

Okay back to the channel; the big holiday special this week is “We Found Jack! The Lost Episodes Of The Jack Benny Program.” It begins on the evening of July 4th at 8pm ET (7pm CT, 6pm MT, 5pm PT) and runs through Saturday (July 6th) at 8pm ET (7pm CT, 6pm MT, 5pm PT). Ah, but there is a catch; you see these 18 lost episodes are from The Jack Benny TV series. They are part of a new DVD release from Shout Factory. That being said, Jack’s TV writers, like him, came from radio, so the excerpts of the episodes I will share with you, work pretty well as just audio. But they will only be a small portion of the marathon. Most of the time you’ll hear Jack Benny radio episodes.

Other weekly highlights include; The CBS Radio Workshop’s “Gettysburg”as we mark the 150th Anniversary of that Civil War Battle. Plus some traditional Fourth Of July patriotic fare from Norman Corwin (Citizen Of The World) and James Cagney (Yankee Doodle Dandy). We have birthday tributes for Olivia de Havilland (97 this week); Charles Laughton, Gloria Stuart and WXYZ station owner George W. Trendle (The Green Hornet).

Greg

Click On Photos To See Larger Images

Share

GregBell

4 Responses to “June 30th to July 6th 2013 RadioClassics Show Schedules”

  1. PCG says:

    I took a four hour drive home tonight in the middle of the Jack Benny special. Had to find something else on XM – couldn’t take such a long stretch of this “genre”. Why the change from the regular format?

  2. psell97 says:

    Thanx for more “Johnny Dollar” shows – they are my favorite! You do a great job of mixing all the various types of shows. :)

  3. Gunrunner says:

    Welcome back, Greg! We missed you!
    I hope you had fun on the cruise.

  4. Cora says:

    Welcome home, Greg. You were missed. Did you have a chance to relax?

About Greg   Blog Home   Contact   GregBellMedia.com   New Schedule Email Alert    Show Schedules    SubscribeSubsribe to RSS
All original content copyright © by Greg Bell

The comments and opinions expressed herein are Greg Bell's personal opinions and do not represent his employers' comments and opinions in any way.

Suffusion WordPress theme by Sayontan Sinha