Harry Morgan in M*A*S*H

If you haven’t grabbed it yet, the schedule is ready, just click to see Full Story & Pictures and then this link; ShowSchedules

If you are a Facebook user and would like hourly updates of what is running on Sirius XM 82 you can join the new page located at

http://www.facebook.com/GregBellMedia

First of all a change from my earlier planned schedule. We will pay tribute to M*A*S*H & Dragnet actor Harry Morgan with a two-hour special featuring some of his radio work. Morgan died on Wednesday at age 96. You will hear him as the narrator, Mystery on two 1947 episodes of Mystery In The Air starring Peter Lorre and Peggy Webber. Peggy will also join my by phone to talk about Morgan. I also have him in the role of a corrupt riverboat captain in a 1950 episode of This Is Your FBI.

The Wild About Harry  tribute airs on Sunday (12/11) at 8am ET (7am CT, 6am MT, 5am PT) and again Sunday evening at 8pm ET (7pm CT, 6pm MT, 5pm PT). There also will be a special West Coast encore Tuesday (12/13) evening at 11pm PT and a final broadcast on Wednesday (12/14) at 4pm ET (3pm CT, 2pm MT, 1pm PT).

A number of Christmas themed episodes are also playing this week as we build toward wall-to-wall Christmas offerings beginning on Sunday the 18th and running through Christmas Day.

We have birthday week tributes for Frank Sinatra, Edward G. Robinson, Jeff Chandler, Van Heflin and Jay Jostyn (Mr. District Attorney). As we did last year, radio DJ and game show host Wink Martindale will join me to talk about Jostyn and Mr. District Attorney.

Greg

 

Share

GregBell

4 Responses to “Dec. 11th to Dec. 17th, 2011 RadioClassics Show Schedule”

  1. laci2ke says:

    Ditto on the Harry Morgan comments — I fully share those observations as well.

    And, although I do listen to and enjoy all the YTJD episodes, this week’s Abbott Arson Matter’s plot seemed to get thinner and thinner as the series went on, on by Friday’s denoument, it was downright featherweight, I thought.

    Oh well, Bob Bailey’s voice was soothing enough throughout none-the-less, but it looks like the writers went on a work slowdown at the tail end of this one…!

  2. mandymarie20 says:

    Thanks so much for doing a Harry Morgan tribute. As soon as I heard about his passing, I was hoping there would be something on the radio. I have to say I was not a fan of MASH, but he do enjoy his radio work and of course, Dragnet. He also made some good film appearances. He played a good heavy in one of my favorite films, “The Big Clock”.

    I’m glad you are playing some “Mystery in the Air” episodes. I love that series. How can you beat the great Peter Lorre? I just wish they would have made more episodes.

  3. abhchelms says:

    I remember Harry Morgan from December Bride and Pete and Gladys. I always enjoyed watching him on tv. Then his run as Col Potter was his shining star. he was great in the role. He definately worked well with the whole cast of MASH!!

  4. Michael-NE Ohio says:

    A salute to you Mr. Morgan….. I first met you as Bill Gannon in reruns of Dragnet (right after Adam-12) and enjoyed you every week from 1975-1983 as Sherman T. Potter….

    Thanks to OTR I can enjoy your radio career too…

About Greg   Blog Home   Contact   GregBellMedia.com   New Schedule Email Alert    Show Schedules    SubscribeSubsribe to RSS
All original content copyright © by Greg Bell

The comments and opinions expressed herein are Greg Bell's personal opinions and do not represent his employers' comments and opinions in any way.

Suffusion WordPress theme by Sayontan Sinha