Norman Corwin R.I.P.

Posted by GregBell at 8:35 am
Oct 192011

It saddens me greatly to announce the passing of the truly legendary radio presence. He was appropriately dubbed radio’s “poet laureate.” Writer/producer/director Norman Corwin died at his home in Los Angeles on Tuesday, he was 101. LA Times Obituary

Just ahead of his 100th birthday, I was lucky enough to visit with Norman in his home and not only was he well aware of what I do, but was very complimentary. A genuinely humbling experience which also was quite enjoyable as his sharp mind and equally sharp wit were much in evidence.

On Sirius XM Radio Classics (Channel 82), I will have a two-hour tribute which not only features portions of our visit, but also three of Norman’s powerful World War Two era radio scripts.

It will air this upcoming Sunday (10/23) at 6pm ET (5pm CT, 4pm MT, 3pm PT) with encores next week on Wednesday (10/26) at 8am ET (7am CT, 6am MT 5am PT) and again at 10pm ET (9pm CT, 8pm MT, 7pm PT)

Greg

Share

GregBell

2 Responses to “Norman Corwin R.I.P.”

  1. Michael-NE Ohio says:

    I am so glad that you had time to visit with him and interview him.

    A great man….

  2. abhchelms says:

    Greg, The world has lost a great human being. I truly enjoy listening to his works.

About Greg   Blog Home   Contact   GregBellMedia.com   New Schedule Email Alert    Show Schedules    SubscribeSubsribe to RSS
All original content copyright © by Greg Bell

The comments and opinions expressed herein are Greg Bell's personal opinions and do not represent his employers' comments and opinions in any way.

Suffusion WordPress theme by Sayontan Sinha