Norman Corwin R.I.P.

It saddens me greatly to announce the passing of the truly legendary radio presence. He was appropriately dubbed radio’s “poet laureate.” Writer/producer/director Norman Corwin died at his home in Los Angeles on Tuesday, he was 101. LA Times Obituary

Just ahead of his 100th birthday, I was lucky enough to visit with Norman in his home and not only was he well aware of what I do, but was very complimentary. A genuinely humbling experience which also was quite enjoyable as his sharp mind and equally sharp wit were much in evidence.

On Sirius XM Radio Classics (Channel 82), I will have a two-hour tribute which not only features portions of our visit, but also three of Norman’s powerful World War Two era radio scripts.

It will air this upcoming Sunday (10/23) at 6pm ET (5pm CT, 4pm MT, 3pm PT) with encores next week on Wednesday (10/26) at 8am ET (7am CT, 6am MT 5am PT) and again at 10pm ET (9pm CT, 8pm MT, 7pm PT)

Greg

2 thoughts on “Norman Corwin R.I.P.”

Comments are closed.